Use Your Walking Feet

While thinking of a title for this post about walking, several verses of scripture came to mind (Psalms 119:105 “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path”) and some of my favorite hymns (Just a Closer Walk with Thee) but I decided to go with something I have heard my mom tell kids at church about a million times- “use your walking feet.” Walking- something so simple, yet can be revolutionary.

In the past couple of weeks I have walked a ridiculous number of miles in the name of raising awareness about hunger, which is a ridiculous and unacceptable problem to have in 2014 if you ask me. My feet were consistently sore for a few weeks. My fellow YAVs and I participated in the 10.5 mile walk Good Friday Walk on the North Shore to raise money for low-income families.

Image

 

Then two weeks later my church participated in Project Bread’s annual 20 mile Walk for Hunger. Our team walked collectively walked over 60 miles (I did 13) and raised over 1,000 dollars to support local food pantries, community-based meal programs, early childhood and school nutrition initiatives, and improved access to farm-to-table resources here in Massachusetts. Over 43,000 people participated and Project Bread estimates that event will reach its goal of raising $3.5 million. 

It’s amazing what people using their walking feet can do.

Image

 

I was blown away by how many different people and groups were there to walk– faith groups, companies, schools, families, and individuals all coming together in solidarity to say that hunger is a real problem in our communities, but one that we can and must solve. No matter who we are or how much money we have or how many miles we can walk, there is always something we can do and some way we can give back.

Image

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Use Your Walking Feet

  1. Mom says:

    “Use your walking feet” .. OK, now you’ve heard it a million and one times! 🙂 Mom

Leave a Reply

